Real Deal Roundup
 
So today I made trips to 3 different stores to test my coupon theories!  Below is a summary of the trips because, as they say, the proof is in the pudding.

Trip 1: CVS

Items purchased: 6

Total price pre sales $45.24
Total discount due to advertised sales price $10.27
Total manufacturer's coupons $10.00
Total Out of Pocket (OOP) price $27.77
Left store with $14 ECB coupons
Net price of shop $13.77 with tax
Total savings $20.27

I did make a mistake on this trip by getting two bags of M&Ms which I had a coupon for, but failed to give the cashier the coupon! Major Score: one of the items purchased was a 60ct box of Huggies Snug and Dry diapers, normally $24.49, yet I got these plus 5 more items for only $13.77!

Trip 2: CVS (different store)

This was the fun one!  The young male cashier was in AWE of me when we were done.  IMPORTANT: this store had a machine in front where I scanned my ECB rewards card and it gave me two coupons of $3 off each on items I was already planning to buy!  That helped significantly.

Items purchased 23

Total price pre sales $84.27
Total discount due to advertised sales price $36.26
Total CVS coupons $6.00
Total manufacturer's coupons $24.70
Prior ECB coupons $14.00 (from trip 1 today)
Total Out of Pocket (OOP) price $6.21
Left store with $5.99 ECB coupons
Net price of shop $0.22 with tax
Total savings $80.96 THAT IS 96.07% SAVINGS

I made yet another mistake on this trip by getting an Airwick I-motion kit for $4.99 that did not match the coupon that I had.  I thought the coupon was for I-motion when it was actually for Freshmatic.  The mistake is that even after he told me, I forgot to tell him to take that product off, so it will be returned on my next trip. Major Score: there was a sale on Sobe drinks Buy one Get one Free, and I had (5) Buy one Get one Free coupons, so I scored a total of 10 Sobe drinks (normally $1.59 each) for...FREE.  That's right, all 10 of them!!

Trip 3: Walgreens

This was an unauthorized and unplanned trip, meaning I had no coupons and no shopping list.  Not good!

Items purchased: 6

Total price with advertised sales$20.96
Total discount Walgreens in-store coupon$1.82
Total manufacturer's coupons none
Total Out of Pocket (OOP) price $19.14
Left store with $9 register rewards coupons
Net price of shop $10.14 with tax
Total savings $1.82

Now this one might not seem too impressive since I didn't have coupons and didn't save that much, but consider what I purchased and how long it will last me: I got (3) 12-pk cans of Sunkist, (2) Mountain Dew 2L and a large Carmex Healing lotion.  The 12-pks gave back $5 RR, effectively making each 12-pk only $2.oo.  The lotion gave back $4 RR, making it only $0.99, and the 2L Mountain Dewa, only $0.88 each on special, gave me a free DVD rental from Redbox (which I redeemed tonight to get Clash of the Titans)! Major Score: enough canned drinks to last me several weeks, $9 in additional RR coupons and a free DVD rental to boot!

All this took me about 2 hours.  Would've taken less if I hadn't gotten lost in Thomasville...twice :-)  So, you could say that I made $51.53 an hour today!  How's that for proof!?!

Thanks ya'll!



Leave a Reply.